“From My Rotting Body” and “Next Year”.

Another two speed edits in one day, type of day! Today’s edition: Ellie’s Bedroom Wall.

346
(click the photo for the speed edit!)

I’ve done a lot of photos where lyrics inspire the photo. The next photo is one of those, actually! But this photo was inspired by one of my favorite quotes from Dia De Los Muertos (Day Of The Dead).
“From my rotting body, flowers shall grow, and I am in them and that is eternity.” – Edvard Munch
A little morbid, yes, but still undoubtedly beautiful. To me, it touches on the fact that while there may be no afterlife per say, you do live on in something beautiful with such vibrancy. This take on the picture is taking it literally, with the flowers literally blooming from her skin, but to me is speaks about life and death and the fragility of not only it, but the fine line between them.
First time doing an edit like this, too! It’s a little weird, but it’s growing on me. Heh heh heh.

347
(click the photo for the speed edit!)

This photo touches on a theme that’s been very continuous throughout this series, which is freedom. As far as story line for this photo goes, it can be taken as several different things. For me, this part of the song Next Year by Foo Fighters is what inspired it.

Into the sun we climb
Climbing our wings will burn white
Everyone strapped in tight
We’ll ride it out
I’ll be coming home next year
Come on get on get on
Take it till life runs out
No one can find us now,
Living with our heads underground
Into the night we shine
Lighting the way we glide by
Catch me if I get too high
When I come down
I’ll be coming home next year.”

So it feels to me like she’s dreaming of flying away. She’s sleeping with her clouds above her, birds flapping their wings high in the sky. Take it as you will, but it represents many different things to me, depending on how long I look at it.

Three days. Isn’t that nuts? It’s pretty nuts to me. Today’s picture is going to be super cool though! If it comes out anything like how I’m envisioning, it’ll be super great.

Subscribe to my newsletter!
ECP NEWSLETTER

Leave a Reply

