Week 4/52 – Forgotten Flowers & Week 5/52 – The Crab and The Bull

Prepare those tear ducts, folks. These two pictures have one continuing theme: sad. But I promise that’s the only time I’ll use bold, italics, and underlines on the same word.

Week 4/52: Forgotten Flowers
Forgotten Flowers

And then I think of one who in her youthful beauty died, The fair meek blossom that grew up and faded by my side. In the cold moist earth we laid her, when the forests cast the leaf, And we wept that one so lovely should have a life so brief: Yet not unmeet it was that one, like that young friend of ours, So gentle and so beautiful, should perish with the flowers.” – William Cullen Bryant, from The Death of The Flowers

This photo is about the death of a lover. Not just a lover, but one who was loved deeply.

Flowers to me normally represent the fragility of both life and death, but with this photo, they’re more meant to symbolize a grave site. The photo in itself is colored in a way that makes it feel vintage, like the love was old, but there’s still vibrancy. Some kind of love will stay inside of the lover who is still alive. Something I’ve wondered when looking at this photo, is if the subject is the corpse or the still alive lover?

I chose the last verse of this poem for this caption because I found it and was immediately floored by how well it portrayed the story. I recommend reading the whole poem, however. It’s beautifully written and may even give inspiration to an entirely different story!

Week 5/52: The Crab and The Bull

The Crab and The Bull

“although our stars,
far apart
fear not, death of the heart
there was comfort in thick skin
warmth under a shell
love sewed into promises
cosmos caved in
there will always be constellations
as long as they’re alive
and if we’re lucky
they might align.”

This photo is a tough one to explain. In short, it’s one that to me is clearly a self portrait. For the past year, I’ve had a huge fascination with stars, zodiac, and really just the cosmos in general. This photo is about someone who I hold very close to me, and my general hoping that life will lead us in the same direction.

Taking very personal self portraits is a tricky thing. If it’s about something or someone that is important but personal to you, it can feel risky to publish it. Not because of the subjects or the content but because it feels like you might be putting your heart on the line. Sometimes, though, it feels good to be vulnerable. Photography is my purest way of expressing how I feel, what I’m thinking. Even how I figure out what in the world I’m doing or trying to say, most of the time. So, make the judgment for yourself whether you think it’s too risky to post. But, keep in mind, the most heart breaking stories are often the most favorite, and the easiest that people can see themselves in.

Alright. Did you cry? Tear up a little? I did.

Thank you for reading this far. I’m going to try my best to make the next photo not nearly as sad, but time will tell!

Take a portrait that means something to you as an artist today – and spread love. xoxo

Leave a Reply

