Projects are hard.

I’m wondering if a week ago when I decided to start a new project, if maybe I took two allergy pills instead of one – thus causing a crazy decision to be made. I forgot how time consuming this was. How did I once do this for a year straight!?

All that being said, being seven days deep into this project (and already three days behind because I’m the worst) it’s made me think a lot about perfectionism and conceptualizing.

It’s not uncommon for me to go on rants about how important it is to come up with concepts before you go out shooting. There’s the infamous Ansel Adams quote about it that I try to live by. But, when you’re forced to create something every day, it can be exhausting to try and make up something new and exciting every single time. So, with that being said, it’s made me question and reevaluate how I look at taking fine art photos.

day 2 - dreamer revised

This photo, for example, is day number 2 of this project. Does this photo have a concrete concept behind it? Not at all. The main reason I got inspired for this photo was because I was looking through my old 365 project and decided to re-create The Dreamer. And, funnily enough, I don’t think I did it any justice. I posted it anyway though because it looked decent and I needed a photo.

a cold freedom

This photo is day number 3. I’m actually pretty in love with this picture, but, does it have a concept either? No. It does not. It’s a pretty picture that looks nice but that’s where it ends.

Art is supposed to be up for interpretation, I believe. I like for my photos to have a concept but for people to also be able to find themselves in them as well. Kind of like music. The song Walk by Foo Fighters for me means so many different things than it probably meant for Dave Grohl when he wrote the lyrics.

These photos do not have concepts. Perhaps loose ones that I might have thrown together in my head but I went into each of these photos blind. I don’t like doing it, but I have a new appreciation for it.

Oh, also, I put up a editing walk through for this photo! Watch it on my Vimeo page here. It’s not nearly as fun or interesting to watch as a speed edit or a full blown behind the scenes video, but those are to come.

don't say a word

And that brings us to day number 4. I took this photo back in August and saved it as a backup in case I didn’t like the photo I was editing (which turned into Forgotten Flowers). It still turned out to be a useful photo and I’m thankful for that.

The point I’m trying to make in this post is that I have realized that sometimes creating without conceptualizing beforehand is okay. And, that in order to keep yourself from going insane sometimes, you just simply have to let yourself do whatever you need to do. Like releasing photos that maybe you don’t have the strongest love towards, or that are months old.

This post makes a lot of sense in my head. Does it make sense outside of there too? Oh well. Also have to let yourself make posts that don’t make sense sometimes.

Spread love and accept the things you’re stubborn about.

2 responses to “Projects are hard.

  1. Perfectionism kills creativity. I read a quote…let me see if I can find it … “Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.” (Scott Adams). With your bold projects, you’re allowing yourself to make mistakes; out of those mistakes you will find masterpieces.

Leave a Reply

